A to Z Challenge MMA

A to Z Challenge: H is for Hall of Fame

Similar to the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York, the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, or the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts, MMA has a Hall of Fame located in the “Fight Capital of the World,” Las Vegas, Nevada.

Unlike the baseball, football, and basketball Hall of Fame, which embodies the entirety of the sport, MMA’s Hall of Fame is actually titled the UFC Hall of Fame and only encompasses the aspects of mixed martial arts that fall under the company’s copyrights. Though a majority of the sport’s elite congregate under the UFC’s banner, it just feels a little too political for a singular body to decide who is worthy of hanging memory.

The UFC’s Hall of Fame was established in 2003, a decade after the promotion was birthed, but a significant overhaul of their HOF in 2015 has given it a greater sense of notoriety among fans. Additionally, the UFC’s HOF consists of four wings: a Modern Era Wing—for fighters who began competing after the introduction of the Unified Rules of MMA in 2000; the Pioneer Era Wing—for those who began competing before the introduction of the Unified Rules of MMA; the Contributors Wing—for the individuals who didn’t compete but helped the sport make great strides; and the Fight Wing—for the most unforgettable fights.

Currently, thirty-three inductions have been entered into the UFC’s Hall of Fame.

Prompted from the A to Z Challenge at: http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: